Sandra at the solicitor’s

This is an activity from the A215 Creative Writing Course that I’m doing with the OU. I’m writing about Sandra, whose marriage has failed. This narrative passage is set in her solicitor’s office, and it’s written in first-person, from the point of view of Sandra. It is an exercise in creating a story that starts from a media res (middle of the story) – the idea is to create a situation, whereby the reader feels that they are entering the story in a pre-existing world (Activity 10.4). I have also written about her in ‘OMG – Sandra is nearly on time‘ and Sandra visits a marriage Guidance Counsellor.

My name is Sandra Hartington. I’m forty-one years young and the mother of a teenage ‘ginger-kid’, named Rebecca – the love of James, my follicly challenged other half’s life. I’m sat in my solicitor’s warm, but musty waiting room. Just in case you are wondering why I’m explaining this to you, it’s because I’m reluctant to offend those staunch Catholic types, who may want to be elsewhere, rather than with me on this frosty December morning.

So where did it all go wrong? I like to think that we are both to blame, but James is adamant that it is my fault. Apparently, I’m not a team player. Well, he would see it that way.

He has always been different from me: he even sets his alarm for 7am at the weekends. God help him, if he should goes 5 minutes past his bedtime curfew. Come on, I ask you – who requests a wall clock for Xmas? Rebecca takes after him. Only yesterday, she was furious because I was delayed in getting to her school play.

Well, the time has arrived; I’m being summoned. I don’t want to resist the inevitable.

‘Do come in Mrs Hartington. I must apologise for my being delayed,’ said Mr Durden-Smith.

‘That’s quite all right. I was admiring your clock. I think it is a few minutes fast, however.’

‘I’ve prepared the final paperwork; all you have to do is sign. If you sign, there is no going back,’ he cautioned.

‘Yes, I’m aware of that, but it’s for the best – for all concerned,’ she uttered, as her eyes welled up.

About Sean

I live in my own thoughts, chat to imaginary friends, and survive primarily on Snickers and Nescafe. I work full-time and study part-time for a BA in English Literature with the OU. Home is the North West of England, and my heroes are those authors that can make miracles out of paper and words…… “The man who does not read has no advantage over the man who cannot read.” – Mark Twain.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

