Simon Middleton’s diary entry

This is an activity from the A215 Creative Writing Course that I’m doing with the Open University. The idea is to portray First Person Narration with the protagonist acting as the narrator (7.2 Part 1)… I’ve taken it from the perspective of an American; I’ve attempted to be as authentic as possible.

November 16th, 2014 – Dear Diary (forget that shit)… Simon Middleton is the name, and snorting coke is the game! Don’t get me wrong, I do care for others; I’m not totally self-absorbed. I love my family: all nine of them, if you include the fat cats and brown and white terrorising terrier. My younger sis is my favourite; she’s cool and everything, apart from digging anything pink. I swear she’ll have a pink Porsche one of these days.

At the end of the day I dabble in a bit of Coke. So What! I’m eighteen, a bit of a player, and, unluckily for me, stuck in the Burbs with the boring people and their: green and white bungalow terraces; blue Chevy Sedans; and 90’s bleached blonde hair. What’s a guy supposed to do to kick loose?

Came in at 6am after a night of excess at the Alpha Phi Delta frat party at Syracuse. Don’t think anyone saw me come in; unlike last week when Mrs Chan, from number 23, complained to mom that she saw me sneaking in, in the early hours. Yeah, like what was that nosey cougar doing, twitching those dark green velvet curtains? Probably, watching out for the prodigal son, Michael: If she only new that he was dealing for me on campus, and in some gyms downtown.

Thankfully, mom and dad are as clueless as Mrs Chan; otherwise I would certainly be grounded again, but for a whole goddamn month this time. Come to think of it, little sis keeps looking at me and grinning. She hasn’t asked to be cut in yet!

About Sean

I live in my own thoughts, chat to imaginary friends, and survive primarily on Snickers and Nescafe. I work full-time and study part-time for a BA in English Literature with the OU. Home is the North West of England, and my heroes are those authors that can make miracles out of paper and words…… “The man who does not read has no advantage over the man who cannot read.” – Mark Twain.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

