Martin the opportunist

This is an activity from the A215 Creative Writing Course that I’m doing with the OU. The idea is to create a character using the first-person viewpoint that is different from me in one or two basic ways, as he/she prepares to deal with a problem. (7.4 Part 1).

Oh, not again! I thought I’d finally managed to get rid of that billing issue. I don’t need this, especially on a Monday; besides, I haven’t got a clue how to fix it. Normally, I play daft and take advantage of Jim’s good nature, but he’s off work, looking after his sick dad: Jim’s helpful to the point of actually taking over and doing all the work, but leaving me to claim the credit: like in any relationship there is a winner and a loser, and I’m not the biatch in this relationship.

As I see it there are two types of smart: the first, is the intellectual type like Jim who applies logic and method to problem solving and eventually comes up with the right answer, after a lot of deliberation and hard work; the second type of smart is someone like me, who is able to cajole or play daft in order to get a problem solved; and the best part is that I don’t have to work hard!

Right now, however, I’m up shit creek without a paddle and the current’s flowing against me. Ah maybe not; I know what I can do: I’ll tell the customer that I need to retrieve some information from the archives; that should buy me a week, and by then Jim will be back.

About Sean

I live in my own thoughts, chat to imaginary friends, and survive primarily on Snickers and Nescafe. I work full-time and study part-time for a BA in English Literature with the OU. Home is the North West of England, and my heroes are those authors that can make miracles out of paper and words…… “The man who does not read has no advantage over the man who cannot read.” – Mark Twain.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

