Johnny Smith’s Uneventful Visit

This is an activity from the A215 Creative Writing Course that I’m doing with the Open University. The idea is to portray setting and emotion. On this occasion it is a worried and paranoid individual who feels unwell…

6.2 -Part 1 – Invent a character who visits a place of historical interest, one with a strong atmosphere of grief, for example, the former home of a writer.

215 Cromwell Road, TA3 6XX, is the official postcode, but a literature boffin like Johnny Smith (that’s me, by the way) knows it better as Sparrow Cottage, the one-time home of Edna Blyton, the lady responsible for affecting, in a good way, the lives of so many millions of children worldwide. Many an hour I spent reading the Enigmatic Eight and the Stupendous Six series of books, God I loved that women!

Her symptoms started out like mine: a slight fever, a sore throat, a high temperature and aching from head-to toe. They told her that it was nothing to worry about; nothing that a week in bed wouldn’t cure. What did they know? Over the next three months, she grew progressively worse each day, before eventually passing away from an unknown illness.

Visiting her beloved home today has been a mistake. It looks gloomy, dark and old-fashioned. It’s definitely affecting my mood. Not only that, but I can’t stop thinking about my symptoms and her fatal illness; they are too similar for my liking. It’s as if her ghost is beckoning me to join her. Oh, when are the results of my blood test going to come back from the doctor’s? It’s quite ironic really that the one place where a person would think it would be safe to work would be a hospital. Last year that MRSA bug closed down the entire neo-natal unit where I’m doing my residency. I managed to escape ‘bug free’, but I’m not too sure about this time.

About Sean

I live in my own thoughts, chat to imaginary friends, and survive primarily on Snickers and Nescafe. I work full-time and study part-time for a BA in English Literature with the OU. Home is the North West of England, and my heroes are those authors that can make miracles out of paper and words…… “The man who does not read has no advantage over the man who cannot read.” – Mark Twain.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

