Johnny Smith’s Dream House

This is an activity from the A215 Creative Writing Course that I’m doing with the Open University. The idea is to portray setting and emotion. On this occasion it is a happy person.

6.2 Part 2 – Write a second version in which the same character has just purchased a ‘dream’ house. Again use up to 250 words.

I can’t believe it! Little old me; Johnny Smith, the book worm and friendless adolescent from a council estate – now the owner of 215 Cromwell Road, or as it is better known in the literary world ‘Sparrow Cottage’, the former home of Edna Blyton, the world famous children’s author and my favourite writer of all time. I’m struggling to explain how happy I’m feeling about my new purchase. Superlatives keep leaping in and out of my head like children bouncing on and off a trampoline: excellent, magnificent, wonderful, glorious, marvellous, brilliant… I think this is the second best moment of my life; the first being the day I stumbled across the idea of writing a children’s book entitled Larry Trotter and his mystical wizards’ school. If it wasn’t for the money from that endeavour then I wouldn’t have been able to afford this place: my ‘dream home’.

I can see myself now, sat on the balcony, overlooking the fountain and vast green lawns below, while tapping away on my type writer and drinking a nice cup of Earl Grey. I wonder if it is customary to have a butler in such an exquisite and stately home? I guess I had better start learning how to fit in with the neighbours, not that I can see them, seeing as there are over 5 acres of land between us. Oh, mother, if only you could see me now. Your boy has done good!

About Sean

I live in my own thoughts, chat to imaginary friends, and survive primarily on Snickers and Nescafe. I work full-time and study part-time for a BA in English Literature with the OU. Home is the North West of England, and my heroes are those authors that can make miracles out of paper and words…… “The man who does not read has no advantage over the man who cannot read.” – Mark Twain.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

